Posted on

Picasa to a Whole New Level

Everyone has photos they have uploaded to their computer. Some people put them into folders and use software provided by the camera manufacturer, while other just use Windows preview to look at their photos.

Google has created a program that helps you organize, edit, manage, and share those pictures with the world. The program is called Picasa and it is free software you can download here.

I have had Picasa on my computer for a few years now, but I never knew how to fully use it to its potential. I decided that it would be a good idea to take the Lynda.com training in this program and learn about all the features I have not been using.

It’s amazing what a program can do when you know how to use it. Here are just a few examples of things I learned during my training.

  1. Facebook Uploader function: I learned about and downloaded the Facebook Uploader for Picasa. It allows you to upload pictures to Facebook with one click of the mouse.
  2. Screenshot Function: Ever have those screenshots where you can see the taskbar and everyone can see that you were playing solitaire on the job? Picasa automatically crops out the task bar on all of the screenshots you take.
  3. Facial Recognition: Looking for that one picture of your Uncle Bart? Picasa has a function, which I learned to use, that will automatically recognize the faces of all the people in a given picture. It will also allow you to organize pictures by faces.

These are just 3 of the coolest things I learned about Picasa. I have realized that I have not been using Picasa correctly over all these years. I now have the power to use Picasa to its maximum and my picture library will never be the same.

 

Leave a Reply

