Posted on

Final!

How is media/technology impacting/changing life and industries as we know them?

 

Have you ever wondered where the future of the music industry? What is augmented reality and why should I be excited? These are a few questions that I never would have thought of asking at the start of the semester. This class has expanded my knowledge in many topics I had never looked into closely. I want to discuss some of the articles that sparked the most thoughts for me and explore the implications.

 

I’ll start with the article titled A Change of Tune which talks about the future of the music industry. Most people think the music industry is on the downgrade, but the article argues that the music industry is doing pretty good. The writer thinks the record industry is the industry that is going to really suffer over the next few years. He suggests that the music industry is moving towards the idea of “360 degree contract.”

 

The “360 degree contract” idea sounds like a good idea in my opinion. The whole premise behind the idea is that the record companies will not just receive profits from record sales, but they would actually receive profits from all aspects of the music industry (concerts, advertising, etc). Some people think this will be a bad idea because mainstream artists will not want to give up their money to greedy record companies. I can see where these people are coming from, but I think they are not looking towards the future.

 

This is not for the current artists.

 

I think this is going to be utilized for the new and upcoming artists that are finding their footing through social media outlets and YouTube. Think about Rebecca Black, LMFAO, and other artists who are gaining popularity from their videos on YouTube. These new and upcoming artists will be looking for a way to get into the music industry and they will do whatever it takes to get there. I think that there will be more artists who take advantage of this contract type, which in turn will help the music industry expand in the future.

 

In this article, I was introduced to Spotify. This just supported the point of the previous article and the idea of the “360 degree contract.” If the music industry is moving away from the traditional record business model, they have to be moving toward a different model where they can capitalize on the new technologies. Spotify allows users to have music in their hands in less than 200 milliseconds. The user can listen to whatever they want, whenever they want. What does this mean for the future of the music industry?

 

The music industry is going to move from a given selection of music to music that is on demand. People are going to have the option to choose their genre of music they want to listen to. Radio as we know it will slowly start to shift to a more personalized model. People will be able to listen to a selection of music which matches their own personal taste. Imagine a system of Pandora that is in every car and in every household.

 

Now that we have ventured into the future of radio, we should take a look at the future of the television. We had a few articles that dealt with this during the semester and I want to discuss some of the implications the change will have for us in the future.

 

 

Disruptions: A TV That Can Read Me and Xbox upgrades aim to be ‘future of TV’

are articles we read that talked about the technology that allows us to talk to our televisions that has been introduced by Microsoft. The Xbox 360 and the Kinect are going to be the future of the way we watch TV. Imagine a world where you never have to worry about losing your remote. You can have the control of the channels you are watching with just the sound of you voice. Say “Xbox I want to watch Criminal Minds” and it will switch to you that show.

 

Where does this mean TV is going in the future?  Could we see Google TV in the next 2 or 3 years? One of the biggest problems with the first launch of Google TV was the complexity of the remote. If you have a system in which you do not have to use a remote, you can start to introduce more complex system into people’s households. The coolest part of the Kinect system and Google TV are that they can lead to so much more with the integration possibilities they will bring with other software. Imagine if your TV had a Pandora type system that chose your TV shows by your preferences which could be controlled by the movement of your hand or the sound of your voice.

 

There are two examples of this crossover between different technologies that are affecting the future of TV. The first is the recent deal that was struck between YouTube and Disney. Since kids are using YouTube to watch videos instead Disney’s website, Disney had to find a way to draw more views. Kids are demanding media through a secondary source and Disney has caught on to this. I think the future of TV is going to be through services like YouTube, Google TV, Apple TV, Hulu, and Netflix. From my own personal experiences, I have found that my favorite part of Comcast has been the On Demand feature. I can’t wait until the day when every TV show is On Demand and I can choose when I want to watch it.

TV is also becoming very interactive. The Future of Advertising talks about how commercials are starting to have an interactive feature to them. Have you ever wanted to have a coupon after watching an ad for a new product? The viewer can do just that with the introduction of interactive TV.

 

What is going to happen next?

 

I think this interactive TV thing may catch on in the world of cable if they do one key thing. I think the key feature that has to be utilized is the smart phone. Viewers are going to have to have the ability to send coupons or deals to their smart phone. This eliminates the need to take the extra step of printing out the coupon. This may take interactive TV to the next level.

 

Taking the future of TV a step farther, let’s take a look at what I think will be coming in the next 10 years.  The Big Idea is an article that talks about the future of augmented reality. This article gave me a pretty good background on augmented reality and I wanted to expand upon these topics and what we talked about in class.

 

Think about this.

 

Where is TV headed? Once we have the social media fully integrated into our TV systems, what will be the next step? There will have something new and I believe that something will be augmented reality. People will be able to interact with their TV sets in ways that have never even imagined. Picture a political debate where you can see truth of statements as they happen. The viewers could see the opinion of voters around the nation as they see a candidate on stage. The possibilities are endless.

 

I have been talking about different topics we have discussed in class and I have to admit that these haven’t been my favorite topics. My true passion is social media and the impacts it will have on mobile marketing. I love the thought of using social media and utilizing smart phones to take it everywhere with us.  I want to start my discussion with the articles titled 8 Key Mobile Marketing Trends and Five Can’t Miss Mobile Marketing Trends for 2010.

 

It was very interesting to see the dramatic changes from even just late 2009. The marketing trends for 2010 were supposed to be focused around texting and text based deals. There are very few texted based marketing campaigns that are being start in today’s market. All of the new campaigns are focusing on the use of social media and smart phone applications. Think about use of Twitter, Facebook, Foursquare, Scvngr, and others that are starting to take over malls across the country.

 

The five marketing trends article was spot on with their statement of integration of smart phones in the world of marketing. Marketers have to redesign their entire approach to marketing as new technology is introduced. The article about the 8 key marketing trends makes a really valid point when they talk about location based marketing. This, in my opinion, is where marketing is heading over the next few years. I see people using their smart phones to change the way they shop.

 

For example:

 

I have started to use Foursquare at different locations when I shop to get additional discounts. If I go to American Eagle and check in with Foursquare, I receive an additional 15% off my purchase. The same thing applies for stores like Aeropostle and Macy’s. Other companies, such as Scotty’s Brewhouse and Buffalo Wild Wings, are starting to use QR codes to create sites that can be updated on a regular basis. Instead of having to reprint a menu every time a new food item comes out, they are starting to have special on a QR code.

 

The article It’s Not Just About Social Media, has some different advice on the world of social media. The author of the article believes that you can’t just focus on social media. He thinks you need to also focus on creating content of value for your customers. This is what he likes to tell his clients they need to do to have a strong mobile marketing presence.  The ideology behind this concept makes a lot of sense and I can see why he suggests this to his clients.

 

I can help to explain my point by another article titled Social Sharing and Corporate Strategy. People need to have a reason to be engaged with social media outlets, especially when it comes to interacting with businesses. I want to either get something from interacting with the business or getting some free in return.  The author of this article explains that you need to provide the reader or the customer with information they want to learn about and even base your plans off current industry leaders.

 

What does this mean for the future of mobile marketing?

 

Here is where I see mobile marketing going with the above suggestions. I see personalized content that will be available on our mobile devices. I expect that soon there will be apps that will know what my preferences are and give me deals that are tailored to me. You are already starting to see this with Groupon and Living Social. I see this expanding to most stores and even businesses that have business to customer connections.

 

Advertising Companies Fret Over A Digital Talent Gap is an article that faces the problem of catching up to the digital gap that I have started to describe. Since there is so much new technology almost daily, it is hard for people to keep up with it. It is even harder to sort through the technologies and determine which ones are going to be worth the time and money.

 

With the field I am going into, I realize that I am going to be constantly learning everyday I’m on the job. Technology is going to keep changing for the better and it will be my job to keep on top of it. I even see where this fact can be a selling point for my future entrepreneurship plans. I want to start a business that stays up-to-date with new technology and finds ways for its clients to utilize it to help their businesses.

Leave a Reply

